Resuming file transfers
JFTP provides a handy and useful feature of resuming broken file transfers.
I.e. If the network connection fails When a file transfer is in progress
(Including System shutdowns at client side or server side) JFTP can retrieve
the remaining part of the file automatically as soon as the network connection
restores. Select as many files as you want to transfer and press the
"Upload/Download" button and JFTP will guarantee you the transfer of all files.
How ever if you are downloading a large file from a remote system, that has an
older version of FTP server (FTP server that does not support RESTART command)
and if the connection breaks inbetween, then JFTP will start downloading the
entire file from the begining. But, when you are uploading a file to a remote
system, there will not be any such problem. I.e. JFTP will resume the uploading
from the last byte it has transferred previously.
The Resuming of broken/pending file transfers will be done as follows.
- JFTP will be checking for any pending/broken file transfers every
2 minutes. If it finds any broken/pending file transfers, and currently if
it is not connected to any host, it will start transferring the files
sequentially order by site.
In case if you restart the JFTP, JFTP will wait for 2 minutes so that
in this duration, if you want you may initiate a new session by connecting
to a remote system. If you do not start a new session in two minutes time,
JFTP will check for the pending/broken file transfers and start transferring
You can view the pending/partially downloaded files at any time by
selecting "View | Pending Downloads" from the menubar
(see the screen shots below). Also you can delete one or more entries
from the list if you dont want to download those files.
Also, you can view the pending/partially uploaded files at any time by
selecting "View | Pending Uploads" from the menubar
(see the screen shots below). Also you can delete one or more entries from
the list if you dont want to upload the those files.
Similarly you can view the completed file transfers by selecting
"View | Completed file transfers" from the menubar (see the screen shots below).